2011 PERC Fellows

Each summer, PERC awards fellowships to scholars, journalists, business people and environmentalists from around the world who are engaged with the same ideas and approaches to conservation as PERC. Their particular interests vary widely, including forestry, fisheries, ecosystem services, climate change, conservation easements, energy development as well as many other topics. Fellows are expected to spend time at PERC, work with PERC researchers and senior fellows, or a qualified mentor, present a series of seminars as their work progresses, and complete a publishable paper or article.

 PERC offers several types of fellowships to accommodate differing interests and backgrounds: Julian Simon Fellowships, Lone Mountain Fellowships, Graduate and Law Student Fellowships, Enviropreneur Fellowships, and Media Fellowships. More information about these fellowships is available by clicking on the titles above.

Listed below are the scholars who have been awarded fellowships for 2011. Applications are still under review and more will be added.

Julian Simon Fellows

Bruce Pardy
Queen's University
pardyb@queensu.ca
Topic: Natural Law of Systems

Matthew Turner
University of Toronto - Economics
mturner@chass.utoronto
Topic: Human Adaption to
Climate Change

Lone Mountain Fellows

Jonathan Adler
Case Western Reserve
jha5@case.edu
Topic: Water Law and Property Rights

Jeffrey Bennett
Crawford School, Australia
jeff.bennett@anu.edu.au
Topic: Book - Little Green Lies

Eric Coleman
Florida State University
ecoleman@fsu.edu
Topic: Anti-Commons and Adaption
to Forest Disturbance

Christopher Costello
UCSB, Bren School
costello@bren.ucsb.edu
Topic:Efficiency of property rights for marine biodiversity conservation

Dan Kaffine
Colorado School of Mines
dkaffine@mines.edu
Topic: Split Estate and Wind Power

Matthew Kahn
UCLA, Institute of the Environment
mkahn@ioc.ucla.edu
Topic: Adaption of Cities to Climate Change

Steve Medema
Colorado University - Denver
Steve.Medema@ucdenver.edu
Topic: History of Coase Theorem

Sergey Mityakov
Clemson University
smityak@clemson.edu
Topic: Politics and Property Rights
in World Oil Trade

Matt Neidell
Columbia University
mn2191@gmail.com
Topic: Willingness to Pay for Water Quality

Claire Priest
Yale Law School
claire.priest@yale.edu
Topic: Development of Property Law

Richard Rice
Save Your World Foundation
rrice@sywfoundation.org
Topic: Property Rights, Compensation
and Conservation

Randy Rucker
Montana State University
rrucker@montana.edu
Topic: Colony Collapse Disease

Jim Salzman
Duke Law School
Salzman@law.duke.edu
Topic: The Administrative State

 

Lone Mountain Fellows cont.

Robert Tollinson
Clemson University
rtollis@clemson.edu
Topic: Political Economy of the Medieval Church

Michael ‘t Sas-Rolfes
Environmental Economist, South Africa
tsas.rolfes@gmail.com
Topic: International Wildlife Trade Policy

Bart Wilson
Chapman University
bartwilson@gmail.com
Topic: The Territorial Foundations of Human Property

Graduate Fellows

Patrick Wieland
Yale Law School
patrick.wieland@yale.edu
Topic: Peru's Resource Curse

Byron Leonard
Montana State University
bryleonard@gmail.com
Topic: Effect of Environmental Legislation
on Environmental Interest Groups

Andy Balthrop
Georgia State University
andy.balthrop@gmail.com
Topic: Spillover Effects in Oil and Gas Fields

Scott Frechette
University of Arizona Law School
scott.frechette@law.ua.edu
Topic: Conservation Easements for
Ecosystem Services

Harrison Zeff
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
hbz5000@gmail.com
Topic: Financial Tools to Improve Water
Allocation During Droughts

Media Fellows

Brendan Borrell
Freelancer bborrell@nasw.org
Topic: Rangeland Health on public
vs. private land

John Koppisch
Forbes magazine
jkoppisch@forbes.com
Topic: Native American Economies

Andrew Wilson
The Weekly Standard, American Spectator
abwilson@swbell.net
Topic: Energy

Research Assistants

Katy Hansen
Cambridge University
hansen.katy@gmail.com
Topic: FME Revision

Anne Ireland
Colorado College
annie.ireland@coloradocollege.edu
Topic: Public Affairs

Enviropreneur Fellows

Meet the fellows here  

 

Type: 
Media Source: